Tags

, , , , ,

Hi all,

Last summer – 2012 – I entered my chapbook length poetry manuscript, Unbound: Alaska Poems, in a lot of contests.

Last winter – 2012 – I felt amazingly fortunate when I was notified by Uttered Chaos Press that I had won their Chapbook Contest.

Later last winter – 2013 – I sent a signed contract and my final chapbook document plus additional pages like Acknowledgments and a Bio.

All spring – 2013 – I waited . . . and did blog posts, and worked on my collection of Alaska essays.

In July – 2013 – I received suggestions from the editor for some changes to the book. We emailed back and forth, coming up with an even more enticing order than what I had envisioned.

Last weekend I met with the publisher to go through the final proofs.

Unbound: Alaska Poems by Katie Eberhart

Unbound: Alaska Poems by Katie Eberhart

Now Unbound: Alaska Poems is in the hands of the proofreaders.

The chapbook, with thirty-one pages and twenty poems, will be printed and available in September.

Is Nature Enough? and Still Life With Vegetables appeared first in the Elohi Gadugi Journal.

Some of the other poems have appeared elsewhere, including Cirque JournalSand Journal (in Berlin), and the Palmer (Alaska) Arts Council’s 2010 Anthology, Voices Between Mountains. The poem Water Tower Tales was the featured poem at the Palmer Arts Council’s annual meeting in 2011 and became a connection (think very few “degrees of separation”) that ultimately resulted in the life-changing experience of traveling with Students on Ice across Iceland and to Greenland, Labrador and Nunavik.

Thematically, the poems in Unbound: Alaska Poems are related to place and historic moments such as the evidence left behind by former residents of the (Matanuska) Colony house we lived in for twenty-eight years, but also nature and seasons, hot springs, berry picking, root vegetables, ravens, and the magically technological room at the Museum of the North in Fairbanks that is called The Place Where You Go To Listen.

Unbound: Alaska Poems will be available through Amazon and the publisher, Uttered Chaos Press.

More later. Hope you are all well and enjoying the Dog Days of summer.

Katie