Tags

, , , , ,

Hi everyone,

For lack of a better title, or time to create three separate posts, I’m mashing my news into a single post.

1. My poem, New Home is in the latest online issue of Elohi Gadugi Journal: Spring 2014 | New Beginnings I am very pleased they chose to include this poem and hope you’ll visit their site.

2. My second guest blog, Digressive Travel, is up on 49 Writers. This post includes musings on travel and metaphors, and will transport you (briefly!) to the MacKenzie River in the Canadian Arctic (we drove there, once), and the Matanuska River channel in south-central Alaska. I hope you’ll drop by 49 Writers.

3. Time being my scarce resource this week, what I’m not writing and posting is what’s most on my mind: questions about travel and birding, how birders interact with the environment, what draws birders to the adventure of searching for birds new to them, or identifying well-known birds in new places. Chuck and I just got back from a three-day trip to the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge, a few days in advance of the John Scharff Migratory Bird Festival. We can attest that the waterfowl migration is well underway.

Snow Geese near Burns, Oregon. April 9, 2014.

Snow Geese near Burns, Oregon. April 9, 2014. [Photo: Katie Eberhart]

More to come, next week I expect, after the Oregon Poetry Association Conference which is in Bend this weekend and has public events with open mics Friday and Saturday night.

Best spring birding wishes,
Katie